first_imgMalin 0-17 Naomh Columba 1-09Malin continued with another victory in Division 2 over Naomh Columba in the longest club match journey in Ireland.The visitors started off the scoring with a Ryan Gillespe score but from then on it was all Malin as they raced into a five point lead with two Brendan McLaughlin scores, one from Stephen McLaughlin and three Anthony Kelly frees. They should have been further ahead when Stephen McLaughlin raced through but Pauric O’Donnell stood tall to keep out his goalbound effort.Malin pointed the 45’ through Christopher McLaughlin and finished the half strong with Dan McDaid, an Anthony Kelly free along with a good effort from Darren McLarkey out wide opening up a 0-10 to 0-01 lead. Dan McDaid struck the crossbar on the stroke of half time after good work from Stephen McLaughlin again.Naomh Columba were much improved after the break, Christopher Byrne and Paul Doherty traded points with Brendan McLaughlin and Christopher McLaughlin at the start of the half but then Ryan Gillespe hit two good scores and a free to get back to six. Danny McCarron and Brendan McLaughlin with two extended the lead back out again.The Glen men were given a lifeline when a mistake by the Malin keeper passed straight to Philip McNern who showed no mercy to drive into the net to give his side a bit of momentum. The tagged on more points from Stephen Jones and two Gillespe free to get within a goal but Malin hit back with two points from Brendan and Christopher McLaughlin to seal the points.Malin Team and scorers: Darragh McLaughlin, Michael McLaughlin, Conor Farren, Conor Byrne, Kieron McColgan, Paul McLaughlin, Thomas McLaughlin, Anthony Kelly (0-04, 4F), Christopher McLaughlin(0-03, 1 45’), Brendan McLaughlin (0-06), Dan McDaid (0-01), Darren McLarkey (0-01), Danny McCarron (0-01), Stephen McLaughlin (0-01) and Gary Farren. Subs used Seamus Doherty for Stephen McLaughlin (50 mins), Stephen McLaughlin for Danny McCarron (55 mins).Naomh Columba team and scorers: Pauric O’Donnell, Barry Carr, Ciaran McBrearty, Philip Doherty, Conor Carr, Jamie McGinley, Martin Cunningham, Paddy Byrne, Michael Maguire, Ryan McNern, Padraig Cunningham, Gavin McGinley, Paul Doherty (0-01), Ryan Gillespe (0-06)and Philip McNern (1-00). Subs used Christopher Byrne(0-01) for Padraig Cunningham (h/t) Stephen Jones (0-01) for Gavin McGinley (h/t), Kevin McNern for Martin Cunningham (45 mins) and Pauric Ward for Jamie McGinley (48 mins). MALIN SEE OFF NAOMH COLUMBA IN IRELAND’S LONGEST DISTANCE CLUB MATCH was last modified: April 9th, 2016 by John2Share this:Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on LinkedIn (Opens in new window)Click to share on Reddit (Opens in new window)Click to share on Pocket (Opens in new window)Click to share on Telegram (Opens in new window)Click to share on WhatsApp (Opens in new window)Click to share on Skype (Opens in new window)Click to print (Opens in new window) Tags:GAAMalinN Columbalast_img read more